Another week…another bike.

Today starts my two week stint with the Sport Comfort model from Trek.  I am now riding a Navigator 2.0.  I have to say that I love this bike.  I am told that when I’ve been riding for longer, I will want the hybrid back, but for right now, this is the bike for me.

Comfort is the best word, because I am much more comfortable on this bike.  I’m not sure how much has to do with the bike itself and how much has to do with the fact that I’ve been riding longer.  It gets dark early now, so I’ve been using the CycleOps trainer most of the time.  I’m not prepared for riding in the dark at this point.

This past Friday, I also got my first bike helmet.  Leo was NOT happy I’d been riding without one, but I did point out that I ride with the trainer a lot, so that helped a little.  Personal experience has taught me how important helmets are.  My nephew died from a head injury sustained when he fell from his bike.  He was 20 at the time.  So, I promised Leo I’d be better about wearing the helmet when I ride.

On the up side of all of this…I can tell the exercise is paying off in my breathing (asthma getting better, actually) and leg strength.  I still don’t go for as long as was first suggested, but I am riding a little longer every day and feeling not quite as dead as I did at first. That’s a good thing.  Who knows?  Maybe I’ll be in shape to ride in the WAM for Team Mariah next July.  WAM(Wish-a-Mile) is put on by the Make-A-Wish Foundation of Michigan. Time will tell.  It’s 300 miles, so I’ve got my work cut out for me.  The longest I’ve ridden so far has been 8 miles at one time.  I’ll keep you posted.

About roadtrackandtrailbikes

I blog for Road Track and Trail Bicycle shop in Lapeer, MI about getting fit by biking. We also have others who contribute to this blog as well. Leo Ruhana, store manager for RT&T will be posting tips and advice on all things bicycle. Plus, we'll have some contributions to our vlog from customers in the area. Check back often. My name is Cindy, I'm a mother of 4, working to get fit by biking. Join me on this journey...I need the support.
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

